esrest.blogg.se

Vista file floders permissions reset
Vista file floders permissions reset









vista file floders permissions reset

vista file floders permissions reset

my virus scanner keeps reporting a couple of Trojans in these folders, which it cannot heal, quarantine, or delete because it lacks permission. I guess I could just ignore this – its only 1.35GB – except thatĢ. Apparently, the above-mentioned Owner folder on the large partition was formerly a system file, and that is why Vista won't let me touch anything in it. The Vista installation formatted the small partition but left the large one alone. XP had gotten so badly corrupted on this machine that I made no attempt to retain it.

vista file floders permissions reset

Prior to installing Vista, the larger partition was the XP boot drive and the smaller one held the XP recovery files. I am able to read some files in some of these folders but cannot modify, move or delete any of them and cannot even open most of the folders (am told I need permission).

#VISTA FILE FLODERS PERMISSIONS RESET WINDOWS#

The problem consists of just two folders on D: and their subfolders left from before Vista was installed: Windows (0KB), which contains one file of 0KB, and Documents and Settings, which contains only Owner, its subs (Desktop and My Documents), and their subfolders and files consuming 1.35GB. I have installed a couple of programs on D: and moved the My Documents folder there because there's only about 2GB left on C. The problem is on D:, a 101GB partition of the same disk on which Vista is installed. I just installed Vista a few days ago on the 10GB boot C: partition. I have ownership now but access is still denied. Tried both methods in normal and in safe mode.











Vista file floders permissions reset